The Drawing is on the Wall

wall-doodle

.

“I have found both freedom and safety in my madness; the freedom of loneliness and the safety from being understood, for those who understand us enslave something in us.”
― Kahlil Gibran, The Madman

(the first part of this quote are the words you can see scribbled on the wall where the dragon’s tail becomes the lady’s hair or vice versa)

.

While transforming

our house

into

a home

while painting

a blue wall

white

strange lines appeared

on the whitewash

which had not been there on the blue

they were faint at first

but grew stronger

as the paint dried

and eventually they formed

into

a doodle

of

a cartoon spider

a flash of lightning

a yellow swirl

an exclamation mark

and something largely undefined

(which Steve thought might be a landscape

or a plant

my mind made it ruder than that going where many random graffiti go)

this seeping through of a drawing

someone else who had once lived here

had drawn on the wall

made me both grumble with frustration

at how hard it is to cover

over the marks of a pen

and sigh with relief

that the doodling

I’ve done

on the walls of this house

are just temporary

like the walls upon which they reside

(they are stud walls which will someday be removed to make the bathroom bigger

which is why I allowed myself to doodle on them)

as otherwise I would have to

leave writing on the wall

sincerely apologising to

those who might live here in the future

for drawing on the walls.