Seasonal Meetings and Greetings

nel

.

“I did work in a bakery for one day. But the boss went off and when he came back I was lying on the floor eating cakes.”
― Noel Fielding

.

This past weekend

Stephen and I

had the pleasure of a visit

from his parents

and as part of this meeting

we went off on an adventure

which included

a stop

in a

most wonderful coffee shoppe

my mother-in-law graciously

did the hokey cokey

so I could take this photo

of the signs on a shelf

behind where she was seated

we chatted about

this and that

other adventures in life which we had all encountered

since our last

get together

it was warm inside

even though it was very cold outside

as is perfectly expected in the north

during this season

the food was delicious

the company was more so

and as we chatted

cheerily

the time away

my mind wandered back

to other times

faded

yet still there

like savings

in the bank

of memory

I come from a rather different

type of family

and it took both me

and Stephen’s family

awhile to adjust to each other

my family

especially at this time of year

was all about drama

for outsiders

it was like stepping into

a pantomime

and they found it entertaining

as they didn’t always realise what was going on

for insiders

the sound of bells were tolling doom but for whom

flickering lights caused seizures,

and the fires burned

because of dragons breathing

it made this the season of more stress than usual

but things are calmer

and quieter now

there aren’t any dragons

trying to burn the house down

and the only fire

is where is should be

on the hearth

keeping hearts and toes warm

merry meet

merry part

merry meet again

.

“I have a memory like an elephant. In fact, elephants often consult me. ”
― Noël Coward

.