Close Your Eyes and Look

lady-in-waiting

.

“Serene, I fold my hands and wait,
Nor care for wind, nor tide, nor sea;
I rave no more ‘gainst time or fate,
For lo! my own shall come to me.”

– John Burroughs

.

In our busy

oh so very busy

bee hive

of a modern life

relax

is

a

word

which

when uttered

tends to draw attention

to the fact that

you

or someone else

is not relaxed at all

.

reading-the-news-with-laughter

.

“I stay my haste, I make delays,
For what avails this eager pace?
I stand amid the eternal ways,
And what is mine shall know my face.”

– John Burroughs

.

relaxation has become

somewhat of

a

a legend

told by keepers of folklore

a

fairy tale

we read to our inner child to coax it into sleep

a

sacred

ideal

to be pursued but never captured

.

the-gentle-man-relaxing

.

“What matter if I stand alone?
I wait with joy the coming years;
My heart shall reap where it hath sown,
And garner up its fruit of tears.”

– John Burroughs

.

*quotes from Waiting by John Burroughs, a poem which taught me how to relax… eventually.