There for the Noticing

reconcile-with-past-rejects

.

What is this photo all about?

It’s a note to self

an idea

one I didn’t want to forget

thus I wrote it down

on a bright pink post-it

and stuck in on the wall

by my desk

where I was sure to see it

and see it I did

for months

I still see it

but I no longer look at it

notice it

until I moved it

a few days ago

as I wanted to hang a picture on the wall

which I shall probably no longer notice

after a few weeks

where it once was stuck

in a crowd of other notes of similar or different colours

all saying something

I can barely hear

but which once I listened to

But what does it mean?

Do I recall what it once meant

yes

simply put

in life we go through a lot of ideas

many of which get rejected

for one reason or another

sometimes by us

sometimes by others

what happens to those ideas

once they’re rejected

like the post-it note

they’re there

but not really there

there for the noticing

and I wanted to remind myself

to review what had been rejected

and maybe have a reconciliation

like reuniting with a friend

who had become an enemy

and finding that there’s a friend there again

perhaps a better friend

due to the experience of traveling through troubled waters

separately yet together

.

“We live in a world where joy and empathy and pleasure are all around us, there for the noticing.”
― Ira Glass

.