A Gathering of Lace

lace-wings

.

There are certain things

which endure

against the odds

given to them

by us

we say they won’t last

yet they do

beyond

their expiration date

and

they continue to thrive

through the changes

of time

of tide

of opinion

of fashion

of what is in and what is out

they defy

us

and our logic

causing us discomfort

rocking our bastion of safety

we thought we knew

we thought we could predict the future

and yet

this delicate fabric

which should have perished long ago

still stands

and grew wings

of lace

with which it flies

further than we ever will

who knows

we sure didn’t

even when we were sure we did

.

“What can I do with my happiness? How can I keep it, conceal it, bury it where I may never lose it? I want to kneel as it falls over me like rain, gather it up with lace and silk, and press it over myself again.”
― Anaïs Nin

.