Why She Was So Bold

.

While observing my cat

who was stalking an unseen by my eyes prey

I admired the pleasure

with which she explored the garden

how every blade of grass

held a treasure for her

suddenly she darted towards

the object of her focus

and disappeared from my view

I heard the shrill cry of alarm of a bird

and quickly ventured to see what the fluster was about

hoping that my cat had not actually caught anything

she was on a heap of grass cuttings

looking intensely wistfully across a drainage ditch

as I called her away from the edge of our property

worried she might launch herself after her target

and then I’d have to rescue her from a watery bog

a female pheasant flew over the ditch

landing only a few feet away from my cat

.

β€œYou cannot get through a single day without having an impact on the world around you. What you do makes a difference, and you have to decide what kind of difference you want to make.”
― Jane Goodall

.

it puffed itself up and approached the furry predator

which surprised me as pheasants are usually so skittish

especially around humans and I was close to action at this point

my cat prepared to pounce

and I decided to intervene

corralling my cat back into the house

(which is not an easy task when she is in full hunting mode)

I grabbed my camera and returned to the area

to snap a few pictures of the female pheasant

while wondering what had made her so bold

she seemed to have vanished

but

she had simply taken cover

in the nettles and weeds

and the reason for her boldness

in the face of danger

became clear

.

.