Inherit the Way

.

It was this BIG!

the man stated with emphasis on size

the woman was doubtful

that his version of events was true

and her body language revealed her doubts

but she did not want to interrupt him while he was in full hyperbolic flow

that was my second impression of this statue

which I spied

while visiting a heritage site

Ely Cathedral

and which drew me towards it

blurring out all other facets

fixtures

fittings

and features of such a magnificent structure

my first impression was

of a couple having a fight

this instinctual impression stems from

my own heritage

a lineage which includes

a heavy dosage of

bohemian passion

my mother was an actress/opera singer/drama queen

who had noble northern warriors and famous thespians in her family

and my father was an artist

a painter of life

who had bandits/brigands

and bad tempered Mediterraneans in his ancestry

this coupling caused many fights

as the mixture made the cauldron of relationship bubble and boil over

the precipice of its lip

my inheritance is to see passion

at work and at play

at peace and at war

everywhere

in everyone and everything

even when it may not even be there

.

.

“Our revels now are ended. These our actors,
As I foretold you, were all spirits and
Are melted into air, into thin air:
And, like the baseless fabric of this vision,
The cloud-capp’d towers, the gorgeous palaces,
The solemn temples, the great globe itself,
Yea, all which it inherit, shall dissolve
And, like this insubstantial pageant faded,
Leave not a rack behind. We are such stuff
As dreams are made on, and our little life
Is rounded with a sleep.”
― William Shakespeare, The Tempest