Skin to Skin

.

I recently had the unusual pleasure

of being envied for my freckled skin

this is unusual as

more commonly

people

either warn me of the dangers of having such sensitive skin

as if I didn’t know

and they do know even though their skin is nothing like mine

or

try to sell me vanishing cream for my condition

which if I bought into it would have me vanish entirely

I wasn’t always like this

I gradually transitioned

over time

after years of running around naked in the Mediterranean Summer Sun

rebelling against hiding in the shade

certain tendencies linger

and

perhaps I should be careful

now that I am older and should be wiser

but if I avoided all the dangers in life

would I ever bask in the pleasures of it

recently

I did get a bit sunburned

and its traces

while slowly fading

can still be seen

if I allow others

to observe the privacy which

the back of a person

reserves

for certain eyes only

.

“You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view… Until you climb inside of his skin and walk around in it.”
― Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird

.