He says: Z is for Zen

.

“Meditation is not a way of making your mind quiet. It is a way of entering into the quiet that is already there –
buried under the 50,000 thoughts the average person thinks every day” – Deepak Chopra

.

ZEN

.

What is Zen to me?

A state of being, of concentration, focus.

It is the place I go to think. To become inspired.

It can be a place in your mind or a physical space.

For me it is my photographic studio.

When I go in there and shut the door, I close the world out and my mind is focussed.

It is a place of inspiration.

So why illustrate Zen with this photograph?

Because it is a packshot I am proud of.

It shows the product but at the same time it has a soul.

You see the position of the hands and you can picture the face, the expression of contemplation.

Perhaps the subject itself is in a state of zen.

He has forgotten the bottle he holds. The glass in his hands. Deep in thought. He meditates. As the liquid gently moves across his palate.

I shot this in my studio. My place of Zen.

.

“Concentration is the secret of strength.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

.